Select Page

Citizens Safety and Protection Task Force

Task Force on Citizens Safety and Protection

The public is invited to provide input by e-mailing thetask force at
For more information, visit or follow the task force on Twitter @FLCitizenSafety.

Continuing his commitment to seeing that justice, due process, and the rule of law prevail in response to the tragic death of Trayvon Martin, Governor Rick Scott, along with Lt. Governor Jennifer Carroll, announced the members of the Task Force on Citizen Safety and Protection today. Lt. Governor Carroll will chair the task force along with vice chair Reverend R. B. Holmes Jr., the pastor of the Bethel Missionary Baptist Church in Tallahassee.

The purpose of the Task Force on Citizen Safety and Protection is to thoroughly review Florida Statute Chapter 776 and any other laws, rules, regulations or programs that relate to public safety and citizen protection. They will make any necessary recommendations to the Governor and Legislature to improve public safety in Florida.

“We are a nation of laws, and I am committed to letting our legal system work to ensure the people of in our state are safe and protected,” Governor Scott said.  “I have the utmost confidence that Lt. Governor Carroll and Reverend Holmes are the best people to lead the review of Florida’s citizen safety laws.”

Governor Scott convened the Task Force on Citizen Safety and Protection immediately after the conclusion of Assigned State Attorney Angela B. Corey’s investigation into the death of Trayvon Martin.

“We look forward to hearing from the citizens of our state about their concerns and recommendations for keeping our state safe,” said Lt. Governor Carroll. “Governor Scott has tapped a diverse and qualified group to carefully review our laws and our policies.”

In addition to Lt. Governor Carroll and Reverend Holmes, the other members of the task force include:

  • Sheriff Larry Ashley, of Shalimar, Okaloosa County Sheriff’s Office.
  • State Representative Dennis Baxley, of Ocala, Florida House of Representatives, District 24.
  • Former Florida Supreme Court Justice Kenneth B. Bell, of Pensacola, shareholder with Clark Partington Hart Larry Bond and Stackhouse.
  • State Representative Jason Brodeur, of Sanford, Florida House of Representatives, District 33.
  • Derek E. Bruce, of Orlando, attorney with Edge Public Affairs.
  • Joseph A. Caimano Jr., of Tampa, criminal defense attorney with Caimano Law Group.
  • Edna Canino, of Miami, president of the Florida Embassy of League of United Latin American Citizens, Council 7220.
  • Gretchen Lorenzo, of Fort Myers, neighborhood watch coordinator for the Fort Myers Police Department.
  • Judge Krista Marx, of West Palm Beach, Fifteenth Judicial Circuit of Florida.
  • Maria Newman, of Melbourne, neighborhood watch volunteer with the City of Melbourne.
  • Katherine Fernandez Rundle, of Miami, state attorney for the Eleventh Judicial Circuit.
  • Stacy A. Scott, of Gainesville, public defender for the Eighth Judicial Circuit.
  • Mark Seiden, of Miami, self-employed attorney.
  • State Senator David Simmons, of Altamonte Springs, Florida Senate, District 22.
  • State Senator Gary Siplin, of Orlando, Florida Senate, District 19.

During its first meeting, the task force will lay the foundation for its work, develop a mission statement, and establish locations for future meetings and public hearings.  Throughout the coming months, the task force will hold public hearings, take testimony, solicit ideas and review all matters related to the rights of all Floridians to feel safe and secure. The first meeting is tentatively scheduled for Tuesday, May 1, 2012, in Tallahassee at the Florida Department of Transportation headquarters.  More details will be released in the near future.

The public is invited to provide input by e-mailing the task force at For more information, visit or follow the task force on Twitter @FLCitizenSafety.