Media Advisory                                              

For Immediate Release
August 31, 2005
  Contact: Nicole Wagner
(850) 609-3028

Deputies Sent to Assist Hurricane Katrina Relief Efforts

            Okaloosa County Sheriff Charlie Morris is sending 10 deputies to assist law enforcement officials in Mississippi after Hurricane Katrina. The Okaloosa County team departed from Shalimar around 6:00 this morning headed for a staging area in the Gulport/Biloxi area.

The group includes:

Lieutenant Arnold Brown

Sergeant Michael Card

Sergeant J.D. Peacock

Deputy Mike Jones

Deputy Johnnie Briggs

Deputy Kenny West

Deputy Bill Harwood

Deputy Frank Hawley

Deputy Lenny Holloway

Deputy Butch Rockwell

Deputies represent members of the Community Oriented Policing Unit and Traffic Unit. Their deployment will not affect the manpower of road patrol shifts in Okaloosa County .

Deputy Briggs is making his third assistance trip to a hurricane disaster area; he was part of assistance teams that traveled to South Florida following Hurricane Charlie in 2004 and to North Carolina in 1996 after Hurricane Fran. Hawley, West, Rockwell and Holloway are making their second assistance trip to hurricane disaster areas.